PLANNING POLICY EXECUTIVE ADVISORY PANEL

TERMS OF REFERENCE

The scope of the Planning Policy Executive Advisory Panel (PPEAP) includes, but is not limited to, all matters of planning policy associated within the North Northamptonshire Council Development Plan. This includes the strategic plan, Part 2 local plans and neighbourhood plans, as well as any Development Plan Documents (DPD's), Supplementary Planning Documents (SPD's), area action plans and conservation area appraisals. The PPEAP will also consider responses to planning related consultations issued by the government or other appropriate bodies and any other planning policy related matters such as the 5-year housing land supply and 5years supply of gypsy and traveller sites.

GENERAL

The following applies to all Executive Advisory Panels established under the Council's governance arrangements:-

- 1. Under the Constitution, the Leader of the Council has discretion to add, amend of delete the EAPs established.
- 2. Each EAP will be chaired by an Executive Member (to be determined by the Leader of the Council). In the event that the Chair is absent, another member of the Executive may chair that particular meeting.
- 3. In addition to the Chair, each EAP will consist of 6 non-Executive Members who shall be determined by Full Council.
- 4. Substitute non-Executive Members will be permitted with the consent of the Chair of the respective EAP.
- 5. Any member of the Executive may attend an EAP meeting without notice of attendance required, however participation in discussions will be through the Chair of the respective EAP.
- 6. Although non-decision making each EAP shall be politically balanced to ensure other recognised political groups have representation.
- 7. EAPs are not subject to the full Local Government Act 1972 (as amended), however they shall be conducted where practicable as if the 1972 Act applied.
- 8. Meetings of the EAP will normally be held using "virtual meeting" technology and shall be live-streamed, except where confidential or exempt information is to be discussed. Recordings of EAP meetings shall be retained for at least 6months after the meeting date.

- 9. An EAP may invite guest speakers or expert witnesses to attend a meeting of the EAP on an ad hoc basis.
- 10. A member of the Core Leadership Team (CLT) may attend meetings of an EAP without notice of attendance required, however participation in discussions will be through the Chair of the respective EAP.
- 11. Whilst some matters for discussion will clearly fall within the remit of one EAP, there may be occasions where an agenda item is cross-cutting. The Chairs of the respective EAPs shall decide which EAP acts as "lead". The Leader of the Council shall act as arbiter where a resolution cannot be achieved.
- 12. Minutes/notes of each EAP shall be prepared and publicly available, except those sections dealing with confidential or exempt information. Full copies of minutes/notes taken shall be circulated to all Executive members and CLT in addition to the appropriate EAP members.
- 13. Agendas and reports will normally be circulated 5-clear working days prior to the meeting date. Urgency items may be discussed at a meeting, with the consent of the Chair, and subject to an explanation as to why an item is urgent, and notification to EAP members prior to the meeting commencing.
- 14. Each EAP will normally meet on a monthly basis. A Chair of an EAP may request the cancellation or addition of a meeting having given due notice to the Head of Legal and Democratic Services (or their deputy).

There are five Executive Advisory Panels currently established. These are:-

Health and Wellbeing and Vulnerable People
(Chaired by Councillor Helen Harrison)
Lead Officer- David Watts

Key support Officers –Lucy Wightman, Cathi Hadley

• Climate Change, Environment and Growth (Chaired by Councillor Harriet Pentland)

Lead Officer- George Candler Key Support Officers –Smith, Rob Harbour, Jonathan Waterworth, Graeme Kane

• Education, Skills and Employment (Chaired by Councillor Scott Edwards)

Lead Officer- Cathi Hadley

Key Support Officers – AnnMarie Dodds, Lucy Wightman, David Watts

• Service Delivery, Performance and Customers (Chaired by Councillor Lloyd Bunday)

Lead Officer- Lisa Hyde Key Support Officers –Janice Gotts, Guy Holloway, David Watts, Geoff Kent, Adele Wylie

Planning Policy

(Chaired by Councillor Steven North)

Lead Officer- George Candler Key Support Officers –Rob Harbour